When Words Escape, Flowers Speak. While They May Not Last As Long As Diamonds, Flowers are Forever. We Associate Flower With The Special Times of Our Lives. Birthdays, Marriages, Farewells…No Occasion Goes Without The Fragrance of Flowers. When We Wish to Convey Passion, Respect, Congratulations, or Apology to The People Most Precious to Us, Only Flowers Will do http://TheWeeklyJob.com/?id=174312 .

Flowers of United Kingdom Counties

 Flowers of United Kingdom Counties  

The counties of the United Kingdom are subnational divisions of the United Kingdom, used for the purposes of administrative, geographical and political demarcation. By the Middle Ages counties had become established as a unit of local government, at least in England.By the early 17th century all of EnglandWalesScotland and Northern Ireland had been divided into counties. The older term "shire" was historically equivalent to "county". In Scotland shire was the only term used until after the Act of Union 1707. Since the early 19th century, counties have been adapted to meet new administrative and political requirements, and the word "county" (often with a qualifier) has been used in different senses for different purposes. In some areas of England and Wales, counties are still used to perform the functions of modern local government, while in other parts of the United Kingdom they have been replaced with alternative, unitary, systems; which are considered 'county level' authorities. 
All of England (including Greater London and the Isles of Scilly) is also divided into 48 ceremonial counties, which are also known as geographic counties. Most ceremonial counties correspond to a metropolitan or non-metropolitan county of the same name but often with reduced boundaries.
The following are the flowers selected for the counties of the England in Plantlife's 2002 "County Flowers" campaign. The results of this campaign designated a single plant species to a "county or metropolitan area" in the UK.
Counties Flowers of England
Bedfordshire Bee Orchid )

Berkshire ( Summer Snowflake )

Birmingham ( Foxglove )

Bristol ( Maltese-cross )

Buckinghamshire ( Chiltern Gentian )

Cambridgeshire ( Pasqueflower ) 

Cheshire ( Cuckooflower )

Cornwall ( Cornish Heath )

County Durham ( Spring Gentian )

Cumbria ( Grass-of-Parnassus )

Derbyshire ( Jacob's-ladder )

Devon ( Primrose ) 

Dorset ( Dorset Heath )

Essex ( Common Poppy )

Gloucestershire ( Wild Daffodil )

Greater Manchester ( Common Cotton-grass )

Hampshire ( Dog-rose )

Herefordshire ( Mistletoe )

Hertfordshire ( Pasqueflower )

Huntingdonshire ( Water-violet ) 

Isle of Wight ( Pyramidal Orchid )

Isles of Scilly ( Thrift )

Kent ( Hop )

Lancashire ( Red rose )

Leeds ( Bilberry )

Leicestershire ( Foxglove )

Lincolnshire ( Common Dog-violet )

London ( Rosebay Willowherb )

Merseyside ( Sea-holly )

Middlesex ( Wood Anemone )

Norfolk ( Common Poppy ) 

Northamptonshire ( Cowslip ) 

Northumberland ( Bloody Crane's-bill )

Nottingham ( Nottingham Catchfly )

Nottinghamshire ( Autumn Crocus )

Oxfordshire ( Snake's-head Fritillary ) 

Rutland ( Clustered Bellflower )

Sheffield ( Wood Crane's-bill )

Shropshire ( Round-leaved Sundew )

Somerset ( Cheddar Pink )

Staffordshire ( Heather )

Suffolk ( Oxlip )

Surrey ( Cowslip )

Sussex ( Round-headed Rampion )

Tyne and Wear ( Monkeyflower )

Warwickshire ( Honeysuckle )

Wiltshire ( Burnt Orchid )

Worcestershire ( Cowslip )

Yorkshire ( Harebell )

No comments:

Post a Comment