When Words Escape, Flowers Speak. While They May Not Last As Long As Diamonds, Flowers are Forever. We Associate Flower With The Special Times of Our Lives. Birthdays, Marriages, Farewells…No Occasion Goes Without The Fragrance of Flowers. When We Wish to Convey Passion, Respect, Congratulations, or Apology to The People Most Precious to Us, Only Flowers Will do http://TheWeeklyJob.com/?id=174312 .

Thursday, October 17, 2013

Counties Flowers of Scotland

Counties Flowers of Scotland

The counties of Scotland that are appointed a Lord-Lieutenant are called lieutenancy areas. In Scotland, the Administration arms of local government counties, created under the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1889, were transferred in 1975 under the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, to the Administration of regions and districts and islands council areas. District Council regions and districts were themselves abolished in 1996, under the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994, in favour of unitary Scottish council areas. (The islands areas had been created as unitary council areas, and their boundaries were unaffected.) The 1889 legislation created county councils, turned each civil county (with one exception) into a contiguous area (without separate fragments) and adjusted boundaries where civil parishes straddled county boundaries, or had fragments in more than one county. The counties of Ross and Cromarty were merged to form Ross and Cromarty. One region and various districts, created in 1975, had areas similar to those of earlier counties, and various council areas, created in 1996, are also similar. Two of the three islands areas—Orkney and Shetland—have boundaries identical to those of earlier counties. 
The following are the flowers selected for the counties of the Scotland.

Aberdeenshire ( Bearberry )

Angus ( Catchfly Alpine )

Argyll ( Foxglove )

Ayrshire ( Green winged orchid )

Banffshire ( Dark-Red Helleborine )

Berwickshire ( Rock rose )

Bute ( Thrift )

Caithness ( Scots Primrose )

Clackmannanshire ( Opposite-leaved Golden-saxifrage )

Cromarty ( Spring Cinquefoil )

Dumfriesshire ( Harebell )

Dunbartonshire ( Lesser Water-plantain )

East Lothian ( Viper's-bugloss )

Edinburgh ( Sticky Catchfly )

Fife ( Coralroot Orchid )

Glasgow ( Broom )

Inverness-shire ( Twin-flower )

Kinross ( Holy-grass )

Kirkcudbright ( Bog-rosemary )

Lanarkshire ( Dune Helleborine )

Midlothian ( Sticky Catchfly )

Moray ( One-flowered Wintergreen )

Nairn ( Chickweed Wintergreen )

Orkney ( Alpine Bearberry )

Peeblesshire (  Cloudberry )

Perthshire ( Alpine Gentian )

Renfrewshire ( Bogbean )

Ross ( Bog Asphodel )

Roxburghshire ( Maiden pink )

Selkirkshire ( Mountain-Pansy )

Shetland ( Shetland Mouse-ear )

Stirlingshire ( Scottish Dock )

Sutherland ( Grass-of-Parnassus )

West Lothian ( Common Spotted-orchid )

Western Isles ( Hebridean Spotted-orchid )

Wigtownshire ( Yellow Iris )

No comments:

Post a Comment